Scoliosis, Muscle Spasms & Wedding Shoes

Hello! It’s me Myah. [Proud Introvert]

Today I’m going to tell you about all the great shoes you can wear when heels are not your best friend. I’m also going to let you in on my personal life a bit.

Let me just say that heels were my best friend.

'
Here are some of my babies

My back never bothered me when I wore heels before  my accident in 2013. I was born with Neurofibromatosis Type 1  [find out more about Neurofibromatosis at www.ctf.org]  and this can cause scoliosis which believe it or not I never knew I had until 2013 – because it was not noticeable and like I said in the beginning I never had any back pain. However in 2013 I was involved in a car accident where a truck hit the car in which I was a passenger right smack on the door of where I was seated.  Who knew my life would take such a turn – after the first doctor visit the day after the accident, I along with my parents found out that I have scoliosis and that the accident had not caused the non-existent pain that comes along with it to come to the surface and leaving a never-ending muscle spasm on the side that took the hit which happens to be the “short side”

Long story short that day marked the end of me wearing heels, even though I tried to get away with it every once in a while when I was not in pain but that never worked as I can hardly get over 50 mins maximum  walking around in heels. My wonderful husband to be also ensures that I stick to this new heel-less lifestyle. It’s been a hard adjustment but I am making it work. And so I have searched Pinterest for some awesome flats and fashionable sneakers.  [Yes! Sneakers! They are comfortable and my Dr. Scholl’s shoe inserts are an easy fit  in those sneaks].

Let me just tell you that nobody can make you wear heels on your wedding day. NO ONE!  can make you wear heels on your wedding day. Wear what is comfortable for you. 

So see yes on my wedding day, there shall be converse or sneakers under that dress because it’s MY day and I can wear what I want!

Leave a comment